137/366 Details from my national costume

This is details from my national costume, called “bunad” in Norwegian.  I won’t wear it tomorrow since we’re going away, so I thought it was a good idea to show some of it today. There are many different national costumes in Norway, all from different regions and areas. Mine is one of several from the valley of Gudbransdalen, which is the valley that starts just north of Lillehammer, the town i grew up in. My fathers family originally came from this valley too.

As a bonus, I’ll throw in a self portrait of myself taken on the 17th of May two years ago, so that you can see the whole thing. It is made of wool, has lots of embroideries and silver that belongs to it.

26 thoughts on “137/366 Details from my national costume

  1. This is so beautiful dear Inga, I loved your costume, it should be so precious. I love these kind of things, the needle art or embroidery… Is it handmade? And did you make this one? Can you see I began to ask so many questions to you 🙂 I am so crazy with these things… we call this needlework or stitchery like that Chinese needlework… I know how to make but I have never done such a big piece like your custome. But inspired me and fascinated me so much. And it is nice to meet you once again, you are such a beautiful lady. Thank you, with my love, nia

    1. Thanks, Nia. 🙂 It is very precious. I did not make this myself. I got it as a gift for my confirmation when I was 15 years old. It is handmade. A friend’s grandma did the emroideries and a friend of my mum did the sewing. It is made so that it can be taken out in the waist and over the shoulders as one’s body is seldom the same at age 25 or 35 or 45 as when one was 15. 🙂

  2. WOW! All these points once more make it so precious in my heart too. And how nice you keep it as today… You are so nice too. You are welcome dear Inga, by the way you seem very young, love, nia

  3. Å jøjje min Inga, så fin du er!!! og bunaden var også helt lekker lekker 🙂 Likte fargene og de lekre broderiene.
    Selv hopper jeg rundt i en rød trønderbunad, men i dag skal den få hvile litt ja. Regn og lite forpliktelser utendørs.

    Nyt dagen og kos deg med dem du er glad i, HURRA!

    Anneklem.

  4. so colourful & graceful! I thnk there was a celebration to do with Norway in Perth today, in the Supreme Court Gardens. I only saw it as I was driving past. I thought of you, though, thought I must mention it….

    1. Thank you very much! 🙂 I guess there’s quite a lot of Norwegian students in Perth, so there might have been a celebration. How nice that you thought of me 🙂

    1. Thanks, Anne! Lots of patterns that we think of as typically Norwegian has influences from other European countries so it’s not a surprise that there are a lot of similarities.

Leave a Reply

